We'll show you what you need to pay attention to when buying a snowshoe and give you important tips on snowshoeing, equipment and safety.

WHICH SIZE FITS ME?

Choosing the right snowshoe size doesn't seem easy at first glance. We will help you find the right size and what you need to pay attention to:

Size Chart

All NANUQ models are unisex. The length or size of the snowshoes depends primarily on your body weight , including the backpack and clothing you are wearing. Up to 110kg, a snowshoe size of 22", 56 centimeters is recommended, from 80-135kg a snowshoe size of 25", 64 centimeters and from 130kg a size of 30", 76 centimeters is recommended.

The size can also be chosen depending on the intended use : Large models are suitable for flat terrain and deep snow. On steep terrain and in firm, icy snow, we recommend shorter models as they are lighter and more maneuverable.

Your normal shoe size does not play a role when choosing the right snowshoe size. All models (except children's models) are suitable for shoe sizes 34 to 47. We differentiate between sizes 22", 56 centimeters and 25", 64 centimeters.

WHAT SHOES DO I NEED FOR SNOWSHOEING?

Now I have found the right snowshoe but what kind of shoes should I wear? The best “snowshoe shoes” to use are hiking boots. It is important that these are waterproof and ideally ankle height. Your feet need to stay dry and warm for several hours in the snow.

WHICH CLOTHES ARE SUITABLE FOR SNOWSHOEING?

With the right clothing, a snowshoe hike is a perfect winter experience. What should you pay attention to when choosing clothing so that you don't get cold and don't sweat at the same time.

  • Clothing: Snowshoeing is like hiking, only in the snow. For this reason, you should wear functional winter clothing if possible. The good old onion principle also applies when snowshoeing, i.e. several layers on top of each other so that you can add and remove layers of clothing as flexibly as possible depending on the weather. It's worth investing in breathable functional clothing.
  1. Jacket : A softshell jacket is suitable for movement-intensive, physically demanding tours in good or at least not extremely bad weather. A hardshell jacket is the perfect companion for extreme weather conditions such as storms, wind and cold.
  2. Insulated vest: Are the ideal companion on strenuous snowshoe tours. They're lightweight and keep you warm where it matters most. When taking breaks, insulating vests are the perfect source of warmth, as their wind-resistant woven fabrics provide good protection against wind and cold.
  3. Pants : Breathable and water-repellent softshell pants are ideal. Long underwear in colder temperatures.
  4. Functional shirt or long-sleeved shirt is best with a spare shirt if you sweat a lot
  5. Functional underwear
  6. Hiking socks (possibly insulating)
  7. Gloves waterproof and suitable for winter
  8. Hat or headband
  9. sunglasses
  10. Scarf/tube scarf

WHICH GADGETS WILL HELP ME WHEN HIKING IN THE SNOW?

  • Hiking/trekking poles: Adjustable poles are best as their length can be adjusted to suit both the hiker and the depth of the snow. It is important to have large winter plates at the end of the cane so that the cane does not sink too deeply.
  • Backpack: Common hiking backpacks are usually well suited for snowshoe tours. It's best to choose a backpack with a carrying system so you can attach your equipment for transport on paths with little snow or during your journey.
  • Gaiters: They prevent snow from getting into your shoes and thus offer protection from cold and wet conditions.
  • Emergency equipment : an avalanche transceiver (LVS) , avalanche probe and avalanche shovel are always standard equipment when snowshoeing. A charged cell phone (emergency number 112) and a first aid kit with a rescue blanket should always be with you in your backpack.

BEHAVIOR WHEN SNOWSHOEING

Most serious snowshoeing accidents occur due to avalanches. But everyone can easily avoid this risk. Signposted snowshoe routes are ideal for this: the operators protect the routes from avalanches. However, the paths are not prepared like winter hiking trails.

There is a danger of avalanches away from the secured routes. Knowledge of avalanche knowledge and sufficient experience are mandatory here. Many mountaineering and snow sports schools and clubs offer guided snowshoe hikes. You can receive additional training in an avalanche course. The Swiss Alpine Club SAC and the Swiss Mountain Guides Association SBV, for example, offer courses.

THE FIVE MOST IMPORTANT TIPS

  • Use signposted snowshoe routes
  • Plan enough time and don't overwhelm yourself
  • Find out about snow conditions and weather
  • Don't go snowshoeing alone
  • Drink, eat and rest regularly

HOW DO I PLAN A SNOWSHOE HIKE?

When snowshoeing, careful tour planning and the correct assessment of your own abilities are important. In particular, the following should be taken into account:

  • Choose a tour that suits your abilities. The SAC has a difficulty scale for this
  • Find out about the weather and conditions. The avalanche bulletin , the summit book or the map from MountainNow can help here
  • Don't go hiking alone
  • Rest regularly
  • Don't blindly follow other people's footsteps

WHAT DO I NEED FOR THE PERFECT SNOWSHOE HIKE

The perfect snowshoe hiking equipment includes:

  • Snowshoes
  • Stable, warm shoes & gaiters
  • Weatherproof, warm clothing
  • Sticks (height adjustable)
  • Snacks
  • Pocket pharmacy
  • Emergency blanket
  • Charged cell phone

Emergency equipment for avalanche accidents completes the packing list. These include: avalanche transceiver (LVS) , probe and shovel. The probe is a long rod. This allows you to search for people buried in the snow.

Nous te montrons ce à quoi tu dois faire attention lors de l'achat de raquettes à neige et nous te donnons des conseils importants pour la randonnée en raquettes, l'équipement et la sécurité.

QUELLE TAILLE ME CONVIENT ?

Le choix de la bonne taille de raquettes à neige ne semble pas être facile au premier abord. Nous t'aidons à trouver la taille appropriée et à savoir à quoi tu dois faire attention:

Tableau des tailles

Tous les modèles de NANUQ sont unisexes. La longueur ou taille des raquettes à neige est principalement déterminée par ton poids corporel, incluant le poids du sac à dos et des vêtements que tu portes:

Jusqu'à 110 kg, une taille de raquette à neige de 22 pouces, soit 56 centimètres, est recommandée, de 80 à 135 kg une taille de 25 pouces, soit 64 centimètres, et à partir de 130 kg une taille de 30 pouces, soit 76 centimètres.

La taille peut aussi être choisie en fonction de ton utilisation prévue: les modèles plus grands sont adaptés aux terrains plats et à la neige profonde. Dans les pentes raides et sur une neige dure et glacée, je te recommande des modèles plus courts car ils sont plus légers et plus maniables.

Ta pointure habituelle de chaussures n'a pas d'importance dans le choix de la taille de raquettes à neige appropriée. Tous les modèles (sauf les modèles pour enfants) conviennent aux pointures de chaussures 34 à 47. Nous distinguons entre les tailles 22 pouces, soit 56 centimètres, et 25 pouces, soit 64 centimètres.

DE QUELLES CHAUSSURES AI-JE BESOIN POUR LA RAQUETTE ?

Maintenant, j'ai trouvé ma raquette de neige assortie, mais qu'est-ce que je porte pour les chaussures. Comme "chaussures de raquette", il est préférable d'utiliser des chaussures de randonnée. Il est important que ceux-ci soient imperméables et idéalement à hauteur de cheville. Vos pieds doivent rester au sec et au chaud pendant plusieurs heures dans la neige.

QUELS VÊTEMENTS SONT ADAPTÉS À LA RAQUETTE ?

Avec les bons vêtements, une randonnée en raquettes est un plaisir hivernal parfait. À quoi devez-vous faire attention lors du choix des vêtements, afin de ne pas avoir froid et en même temps de ne pas transpirer.

  • Vêtements : La raquette, c’est comme la randonnée, seulement dans la neige. C'est pourquoi vous devez si possible porter des vêtements d'hiver fonctionnels. Le bon vieux principe de l'oignon s'applique également en raquettes, c'est-à-dire plusieurs couches les unes sur les autres pour pouvoir ajouter et retirer des couches de vêtements de la manière la plus souple possible en fonction de la météo. Cela vaut la peine d'investir dans des vêtements fonctionnels respirants.

1. Veste : Une veste softshell convient aux randonnées exigeantes en mouvement et physiquement exigeantes par beau temps ou du moins pas extrêmement mauvais. Une veste hardshell est le compagnon idéal pour les conditions météorologiques extrêmes telles que les tempêtes, le vent et le froid.

2. Gilet isolant : Le compagnon idéal pour les randonnées en raquettes exigeantes. Ils sont légers et vous gardent au chaud là où cela compte le plus. Lors des pauses, les gilets isolants sont la source de chaleur idéale, car leurs tissus tissés coupe-vent offrent une bonne protection contre le vent et le froid.

3.Pantalons : Les pantalons softshell respirants et déperlants sont idéaux. Sous-vêtements longs par températures plus froides.

4. Une chemise fonctionnelle ou une chemise à manches longues est préférable avec une chemise de rechange si vous transpirez beaucoup

5. Sous-vêtements fonctionnels

6. Chaussettes de randonnée (éventuellement isolantes)

7. Gants imperméables et adaptés à l'hiver

8. Chapeau ou bandeau

9. Des lunettes de soleil

10. Écharpe/écharpe tube

QUELS GADGETS M'AIDERONT LORS D'UNE RANDONNÉE DANS LA NEIGE ?

  • Bâtons de randonnée/trekking : Les bâtons réglables sont les meilleurs car leur longueur peut être ajustée en fonction à la fois du randonneur et de la profondeur de la neige. Il est important d'avoir de grandes plaques d'hivernage au bout de la canne afin que la canne ne s'enfonce pas trop profondément.
  • Sac à dos : Les sacs à dos de randonnée courants sont généralement bien adaptés aux randonnées en raquettes. Il est préférable de choisir un sac à dos doté d'un système de portage afin de pouvoir attacher votre matériel pour le transport sur des chemins peu enneigés ou pendant votre trajet.
  • Guêtres : Elles empêchent la neige de pénétrer dans vos chaussures et offrent ainsi une protection contre le froid et l'humidité.
  • Équipement de secours : un émetteur-récepteur d'avalanche (LVS) , une sonde d'avalanche et une pelle à avalanche sont toujours l'équipement standard en raquettes. Un téléphone portable chargé (numéro d'urgence 112) et une trousse de premiers secours avec une couverture de secours doivent toujours être avec vous dans votre sac à dos.

COMPORTEMENT EN RAQUETTE

Les accidents les plus graves en raquettes sont dus aux avalanches. Mais tout le monde peut facilement éviter ce risque. Les itinéraires de raquettes balisés sont idéaux pour cela : les opérateurs protègent les itinéraires des avalanches. Cependant, les sentiers ne sont pas préparés comme les sentiers de randonnée hivernale.

Il existe un risque d'avalanche en dehors des itinéraires sécurisés. La connaissance des avalanches et une expérience suffisante sont ici obligatoires. De nombreuses écoles et clubs d'alpinisme et de sports de neige proposent des randonnées en raquettes accompagnées. Vous pouvez recevoir une formation complémentaire dans le cadre d'un cours d'avalanche. Le Club alpin suisse CAS et l' Association suisse des guides de montagne SBV proposent par exemple des cours.

LES CINQ CONSEILS LES PLUS IMPORTANTS

  • Utilisez les itinéraires raquettes balisés
  • Prévoyez suffisamment de temps et ne vous submergez pas
  • Renseignez-vous sur les conditions d'enneigement et la météo
  • Ne partez pas seul en raquettes
  • Boire, manger et se reposer régulièrement

COMMENT PLANIFIER UNE RANDONNÉE EN RAQUETTES ?

En raquettes à neige, une planification minutieuse de l'excursion et une évaluation correcte de vos propres capacités sont importantes. Il convient notamment de prendre en compte les éléments suivants :

DE QUOI AI-JE BESOIN POUR UNE RANDONNÉE EN RAQUETTES PARFAITE

L’équipement parfait pour une randonnée en raquettes comprend :

  • Raquettes
  • Chaussures et guêtres stables et chaudes
  • Des vêtements chauds et résistants aux intempéries
  • Bâtons (hauteur réglable)
  • Collations
  • Pharmacie de poche
  • Couverture d'urgence
  • Téléphone portable chargé

L'équipement d'urgence en cas d'accident d'avalanche complète la liste de colisage. Ceux-ci comprennent : un émetteur-récepteur d'avalanche (LVS) , une sonde et une pelle. La sonde est une longue tige. Cela vous permet de rechercher des personnes ensevelies sous la neige.